Practicing the ladies

Sigh…still learning the female body…since i hit puberty. I think I’m getting somewhere. Did two others before this and ending up hating them. One of them had pretty decent coloring/painting but the anatomy (mainly the breasts) did not look right. The other I tried to do too much and just f*cked it up. Which is also the one where i painted from a reference. I can’t draw/paint from reference very well when it comes to being creative at the same time with the piece…I think. Don’t know why. I can do figure drawing though, but with a pencil. I think I’m just more used to the pencil still because a simple pencil sketch still takes 4-5 times less than trying to do it on the computer. Maybe I need a bigger wacom because it is easier to do it at work than here at home (work 11×9 if not bigger; home; 5×3). I think I’m steadily getting better. Hopefully. Trying to be optimistic here.

On this piece I stuck with b/w because I wanted to concentrate more on the figure and not be distracted by other things. I did this one with a different approach and that is not to care too much about the line work on the sketch part of it too much and fix what looks wrong later. That’s why there are some “crooked” areas.  Boobs needs a lot of work. Also, originally she was naked but it was just boring. So I gave her a toga and a “tribal” hair-do with some kind of fancy jewelry. Oh, and a weird knife.

girl_05-copy2.jpg

This one is not one of my favorite but it’s interesting enough for me to post it. I think the torso area is just too small. Man, I got to practice some more.

girl_03-copy.jpg

Leave a Reply

